Ramadan and Rose Water

I guess I’ll start by saying Ramadan mubarak to everyone.  Hamdullah Allah allowed us to live so that we may harvest what we sowed.

As for the rose water, here’s the story.  My mom gave me her oil burner (the kind that you get from the body shop to burn scented oils).  She told me to try putting rose water in it.  I gave it a shot and it worked.  My apartment smelled great.  I then tried drinking it, as it was originally intended to be used.  The taste was pretty good.  However, I later noticed that the fumes in my breath smelled like rose water.  I remembered that Imam Ghazali mentioned something about rose water emitting fumes (in his Deliverence from Error).  I also reflected on how adding heat to the rose water in the perfume burner caused it to emit fumes that smelled like roses.  Perhaps the acid in my stomach mixed with the rose water and caused similar fumes.  What I did know is that the hardest part of fasting for me is not the hunger or the thirst, it is the taste of my breath.  So I tried some rose water for the pre-dawn breakfast and my breath, though still bad, has not been as bad.  I’ll keep trying it out and see what happens.

As for the fiqh on it, I had some questions.  Introducing anything in your mouth that changes your saliva breaks your fast.  Does that mean that rose water invalidates the fast?  I don’t think so.  My reasoning is that (a) you are not introducing anything to your mouth (though you do have to wash out your mouth before fajr) and (b) if the fumes from rose water would cause your wudu to break, then so would the fumes from all the other food you eat.  Then again, I don’t know that much.  If anyone has any insight on this issue, please comment.

3 responses to “Ramadan and Rose Water

  1. go to http://www.fisabilillah12.wordpress.com and write comments and tell your friends about this too………

  2. I’m preggers, but I find the rose water thing quite interesting. May Allah make it easy for you and accept your fast, Ameen.

  3. salaam,

    while studying the baab of siwaak while fasting (in Imam Tirmidh (ra)’s Sunan) our teacher mentioned:

    و حديث: ((لخلوف فم الصائم أطيب من المسك )) لا يدل على النهي عن السواك, و قال ابن همام: و أما المعنى فلا يستلزم كراهة الاستياك لأنه بناء على أن السواك يزيل الخلوف – وهو غير مسلم بل إنما يزيل أثره الظاهر على ألسن من الإصفرار, و هذا لأن سببه خلو المعدة من الطعام – والسواك لا يفيد شغلها بطعام يرتفع السبب. انتهى

    this is around the discussion of Imam Shafi’i (ra)’s position that this stench is beloved to Allah ta’ala, so one should not remove it — leading to his position that siwaak is makruh while fasting if done after zawaal (but ok if before zawaal) because there is no khaloof (stench of breath due to fasting — you called it “fumes”) that occurs pre-zawaal.

    The Ahnaaf respond that siwaak is mutlaqan ok bc it does not remove the khaloof regardless of when you brush, as siwaak only removes the dirt from the teeth — even if we assume that siwaak removes the stench, then that would be on a temporary basis bc it re-appears after 10-15 minutes (because you’re still hungry & fasting and this gas which causes the stench is still present in your stomach) no matter if you brush 100 times (the stench re-occurs). hence the hadith that Rasulullah (sallallahu ‘alayhi wa sallam) himself was seen coutless times siwaaking while fasting.

    even tho it’s not directly related to your dilemma, it’s nice to share/review things with ppl interested in fumes & fasting. maybe you could dwelve into the shurooh and learn more.

    wassalaam.

Leave a Reply

