Perhaps there was a Better Way to go About That…

So here in Cambridge, there is this girl that is with us on this trip who speaks very loudly and is annoying everyone. So I decided to do her, myself, and everyone else around us a favor (which they spell favour here) by kindly asking her to lower her voice and I decided to try to do it in the nicest way possible though I think I flopped. You judge. Here is the conversation that ensued after I saw her sitting on a sidewalk.

Me: You have a beautiful voice.

Girl: Oh thanks. It’s really nothing.

Me: Maybe you should keep it down so people don’t get jealous.

Girl: That’s harsh!

So I walked away not knowing what else to do. I’m going to be laughing about this occurrence for a while.

12 responses to “Perhaps there was a Better Way to go About That…

  1. Salaams have you met Shaykh Abdal Hakim Murad yet?

  2. not yet. He is on, what the English call, holiday. He will be back next week. Perhaps he can suggest a wird of repentance for that travesty.

  3. how long are u in cambridge?

  4. I’ll be here until the end of next week (I leave the 18th of August insha’Allah).

  5. lol!

    ah never mind, maybe next time you should just tell them to be quiet ๐Ÿ˜›

    and welcome to the UK ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. shaykh nuh’s in london on 14th by th way, and then bradford 15th and suhba starts on 16th in leeds

  7. hah, ma sha’ Allah. Our brother Ibraheem is so smooth.
    (I’m not sure if that last statement was sarcastic or not.)

  8. i don’t think it sounded harsh, i think it was a sweet way of doing it. was she quieter after that?

  9. lol, you the man Ibraheem!

  10. No. In fact, she is now speaking louder to annoy me specifically. Whatever. The pearl is not affected when the oyster is shaken.

Leave a Reply

