Why the Shafi’ Mathhab is better than the Hanafi Mathhab

I was in Miami this weekend and everyone who did not go to the SunniPath study tour missed out like crazy.  No worries.  You can still sign up for SunniPath classes at www.sunnipath.com.  I strongly recommend it.  Read the teacher biographies and you’ll know why.

Anyway, I see many blogs that have posts about which mathhab is better just for kicks.  Here’s mine.  The Shafi’ Mathhab is about $30 better than the Hanafi Mathhab.

Exhibit one:  Al-Hidayah, the premier Hanafi book in English.

Exhibit two: Reliance of the Traveler, the premier Shafi’ book in English.

Conclusion: the Shafi’ Mathhab is better because you can save over $30.

Ramadan Mubarak 😉

Anyone find it ironic that the words “blog” and “spellcheck” are not recognized by spellcheck?

5 responses to “Why the Shafi’ Mathhab is better than the Hanafi Mathhab

  1. Are you kidding me? Heh. People actually blog about which madhab is better?

    Well my blog has a problem then: Lena is Shafii and I’m Hanafi. Darnit. lol.

    Though I did hear a dream by a Shafii scholar that was pertaining to all the madhabs in which his dream is interpreted to say the Hanafi school is better. Hah! 🙂

    Such randomness. I betcha the Hanafi madhab is better and cheaper in Pakistan! 😀

    On a serious note though. is Al Hidayah bigger? I was listening to someone speak and he was saying it’s a huge book with a bunch of volumes and the commentary on it is even larger. Unfortunately, I don’t have a copy. I have a basic Hanafi fiqh primer on prayer by Shaykh Faraz and then I have the Reliance too (my brother is a Shafii). So in terms of Hanafi fiqh books, I’m a little deficient.

  2. I don’t know that much about Al-Hidayya except it is a major book of Hanafi fiqh.

  3. shafi’ism is a dangerous road to tread.

  4. First, Munzareen Padela is correct: the Shafi’i book Reliance of the Traveller is a minor book compared to Al-Hidayah. Al-Hidayah is a voluminous works, and it is the premier book of the Hanafis. (By the way, Reliance of the Traveller is not the premier book of the Shafi’is, its not even close).

    Besides that, however, how does the price of the book make a school better? And the only reason the Reliance is so cheap is that it was published over ten years ago. I bought it when it came out, and at that time it was $75.

  5. @Abdallah:

    It’s a joke. He was trying to poke humor.

Leave a Reply

